Youth Internship Program

> Becoming a YIP Employer

Success Stories - Mentors

Marie-Dominique Bonmariage
Videographe
Film & Broadcasting

Mentorship is simply part of working in the cultural sector, according to Marie-Dominique Bonmariage. However, she feels that this expectation can be difficult because many mentors don't have any specific training to be mentors. Nonetheless, she believes that it is important to pass along one's experience and knowledge to younger people.

Mrs. Bonmariage is very interested in the challenge of succession, especially in cultural management. She sees internship as one way to address this issue.

Amy Bowring
Dance Collection Danse
Multidisciplinary & Live performing arts

Part of the organisation's strategic plan was to bring in an intern to strengthen its research capacity, knowing that interns can make significant contributions to an organisation. Participating in CHRC's Youth Internship Program allows Arts Inter-Media Canada / Dance Collection Danse to train - and then find other funding to retain - interns who enjoy the work and fit well in the organisation.

For Amy Bowring, how well an intern fits into the workplace team is critical to the success of an internship. Very familiar with mentoring, she suggests that the mentor and intern can develop a great working relationship if the intern is receptive to the knowledge and skills-sharing efforts of the mentor.

Jennifer Dorner
Independent Media Arts Alliance
New media & Multi-media

Like many other cultural organisations, the Independent Media Arts Alliance includes internship as part of its overall planning. They too have found it somewhat challenging to devote enough time to training the intern.

The group recognizes that interns can address needs or fill gaps. Jennifer Dorner suggests looking at the organisation's needs or gaps, and matching them with a potential intern's interests. She also advises organisations to make sure that the intern fits the cultural sector, and that he or she is self-motivated.

As a younger mentor, Jennifer Dorner enjoys the collaborative nature of an internship. She encourages other mentors to have very open discussions with interns.

Ilona Dougherty
The Apathy is Boring Project
Multidisciplinary

Like other cultural sector organisations, The Apathy is Boring Project includes internships in their strategic plan, in turn building human resources capacity within the organisation.

Ilona Dougherty finds that the cultural sector facilitates learning. She recommends that organisations avoid making an internship overwhelming for the intern. She also cautions that interns need guidance to navigate the fine line between taking ownership of assigned tasks and understanding the boundaries of their authority.

For Mrs. Dougherty, mentoring provides an opportunity to learn which of her skills are important and can be transmitted to an intern. An intern willing to try new tasks and learn new skills - "to step up to the plate" - helps her see her own challenges, both as a mentor and as a colleague.

Chantal Fortier
FRACAS
Writing & Publishing

FRACAS develops internships as a way to extend their staff capacity, allowing them to accomplish projects that could not otherwise be undertaken. Their recent intern made a great contribution to the organisation's visibility, and was directly responsible for an increase in membership.

Chantal Fortier recommends finding a hard working, open-minded and flexible intern who takes the job to heart. She cautions that it is important to explain a lot to an intern, even if they seem somewhat disinterested, because these communication efforts help make the internship a success.

Vickey Chainey Gagnon
Foreman Art Gallery, Bishop's University
Visual arts & Multi-media

When considering where to look for an internship, Vickey Chainey Gagnon recommends choosing small cultural organisations or businesses because they allow the interns to experience all aspects of working in the particular type of organisation and discipline.

For Mrs. Chainey Gagnon, mentoring allows her to feel that she has a role in young people's lives by supporting their learning process. It also helps her learn more about herself and her colleagues, and about her own management skills.

She suggests that mentors should take the internship seriously, and give the intern valuable experience. She advises mentors to get regular feedback and evaluations from an intern, as part of learning what an intern's expectations are and how to meet them. In addition, she recommends that mentors monitor interns closely to make sure they don't fall behind, allowing them to learn and grow as much as possible from the internship experience.

Amanda Hancox
Dancer Transition Resource Centre
Live performing arts

Like many other arts organisations, internships are built right into the Dancer Transition Resource Centre's overall strategy, rather than being event driven. In their small office, Amanda Hancox recognizes that everyone mentors informally, and acknowledges the need to focus on making time for an intern, ideally over a longer period of time.

The Dancer Transition Resource Centre exposes interns to a wide variety of experiences - from key organisational activities such as event development or database programming to management issues such as priority setting and mentoring itself. Amanda Hancox encourages organisations to identify and take advantage of the unexpected skills and abilities of interns.

Marie-Catherine LaPointe
Boulev'Art Inc.
Music

Boulev'Art Inc. took on a mentor at a critical moment in the organisation's development. Because the organisation was in flux, the intern learned a lot about many areas of the business and developed a global view of the organisation, despite the fact that the intern was brought in specifically to develop national and international sales.

As a mentor, Marie-Catherine LaPointe finds that mentoring is a great experience when the intern makes an effort to gain experience. She very much appreciates being able to witness results of working with intern, and is impressed when younger people demonstrate initiative. For her, mentorship offers a personal challenge. It requires her to shift her focus from general management to a more personal type of management where information flows both ways.

Debbie Nightingale
The Nightingale Company
Film & Broadcasting

The Nightingale Company finds it advantageous to train staff during an internship, and then have the opportunity to hire a trained and knowledgeable person after the internship is over. To organisations considering or undertaking internships, Debbie Nightingale advises that they check the intern's goals against the organisation's needs, and find ways to match them. She also encourages interns not to hesitate and ask for advice from their mentors.

Mrs. Nightingale finds that she always learns from interns. She notes that organisations benefit from the creativity, the intellectual curiosity and the new and different approaches of interns.

Tamara Steinberg
Art Starts Neighbourhood Cultural Centre
Multidisciplinary

Art Starts Neighbourhood Cultural Centre recommends interns who are enthusiastic, committed to the arts, and interested in using the arts as a communciation development tool. During a recent internship, the organisation looked for an intern with freshly acquired knowledge in the area of communications, and intentionally drew on that new knowledge to develop an effective sponsorship marketing kit.

Tamara Steinberg loves being a mentor. Just as communication is important to the organisation as a whole, she stresses the importance of communication skills in working with interns.

Programme Jeunes stagiaires

> Devenir un employeur du PJS

Témoignages de réussite - mentors

Marie-Dominique Bonmariage
Videographe
Cinéma et radiotélédiffusion

Les stages font simplement partie d'oeuvrer dans le secteur culturel selon Marie-Dominique Bonmariage. Cependant, elle trouve que cette attente peut être difficile car plusieurs mentors n'ont pas obtenu une formation précise afin d'exercer ce rôle. Malgré ce fait, elle croit que le partage d'expériences et de conseils avec de jeunes employé(e)s est très important.

Mme Bonmariage est très intéressée par le défi que représente la succession, particulièrement dans le domaine de la gestion culturelle et croit que les programmes de stages sont une manière d'adresser ce problème.

Amy Bowring
Dance Collection Danse
Multidisciplinaire et Arts de la scène

Une section de leur plan stratégique était d'engager un ou une stagiaire afin d'améliorer leur capacité de recherche, sachant que les stagiaires peuvent contribuer significativement à une organisation. La participation au Programme Jeunesse Emploi a permis à Arts Inter-Media Canada / Dance Collection Danse d'entraîner et d'ensuite trouver des fonds afin de garder les stagiaires qui ont aimé l'expérience et qui s'accordent bien au sein de l'organisation.

Pour Amy Bowring, la réussite d'un stage repose grandement sur la capacité du ou de la stagiaire à fonctionner au sein de l'équipe de travail. Étant très familiaire avec le mentorat, elle croit que le mentor et le ou la stagiaire peuvent développer une excellente relation de travail si le ou la stagiaire est réceptif(ve) à l'apprentissage et au partage de connaissances avec le mentor.

Jennifer Dorner
Alliance des arts médiatiques indépendants
Nouveaux médias

Comme plusieurs autres organisations culturelles, l'Alliance des arts médiatiques indépendants intègre le programme de stages dans leur planification globale. Ils trouvent qu'il est parfois difficile de consacrer assez de temps à entraîner le ou la stagiaire.

Le groupe reconnaît qu'un ou une stagiaire peut répondre à des besoins et combler des lacunes. Jennifer Dorner suggère déterminer les besoins et les lacunes de l'organisation et les jumeler aux intérêts d'un ou une stagiaire. Elle précise de s'assurer que le ou la stagiaire s'accorde bien dans le secteur culturel et qu'il ou elle est une personne motivée.

Comme jeune mentor, Jennifer Dorner aime particulièrement la nature collaborative du stage. Elle encourage les autres mentors à maintenir un dialogue très ouvert avec le ou la stagiaire.

Ilona Dougherty
L'apathie c'est plate
Multidisciplinaire

Comme plusieurs autres organisations culturelles, L'apathie c'est plate inclu les programmes de stages dans leur planification stratégique leur permettant d'augmenter leur ressources humaines.

Ilona Dougherty trouve que le secteur culturel facilite l'apprentissage. Elle suggère de ne pas rendre le stage accablant pour le ou la stagiaire. Elle prévient aussi que les stagiaires ont besoin de mentorat afin de distinguer la nuance entre prendre une tâche en main et comprendre les limites à leur authorité.

Pour Mme Dougherty, le mentorat est une occasion d'apprendre lesquelles de ses habiletés sont importantes et devraient être transmissent à le ou la stagiaire. Un ou une stagiaire qui est prêt(e) à être à la hauteur en essayant de nouvelles tâches et en apprennant de nouvelles habiletés l'aide à établir ses propres défis à titre de mentor et de collègue.

Chantal Fortier
FRACAS
Création littéraire et édition

Pour FRACAS, les programmes de stages sont une manière d'augmenter leur nombre d'employés, leur permettant d'accomplir des projets qui ne seraient pas réalisables en autres temps. Leur dernier stagiaire aida grandement à augmenter la visibilité de l'organisation et fut directement responsable de l'augmentation du taux d'adhésion.

Chantal Fortier recommande de trouver un ou une stagiaire travaillant(e), ouvert(e) d'esprit, flexible et qui prend son travail à cour. Elle précise qu'il est important d'offrir beaucoup d'explications au ou à la stagiaire, même si celui-ci ou celle-ci semble quelque peu désintéressé(e), parce que ces efforts de communication aident à la réussite du stage.

Vickey Chainey Gagnon
Gallerie d'art Foreman
Arts visuels et multidisciplinaire

Vickey Chainey Gagnon recommande aux stagiaires de choisir de petites organisations ou entreprises culturelles parce qu'elles permettent de goûter à tous les volets du travail dans ce type d'organisation et ce domaine d'activité.

Pour Mme Chainey Gagnon, être un mentor affermit le rôle actif qu'elle joue dans la vie des jeunes employés en soutenant leur apprentissage. L'expérience l'aide également à se découvrir, à connaître davantage ses collègues et à reconnaître ses propres habiletés de gestion.

Elle recommande aux mentors de s'engager sérieusement au stage et donner une expérience valable au ou à la stagiaire. Elle suggère obtenir régulièrement des commentaires et des évaluations du ou de la stagiaire afin de connaître leur attentes et déterminer les résultats. Elle recommande également au mentor de superviser les stagiaires de près afin de s'assurer qu'ils ou elles ne prennent pas de retard, leur permettant ainsi d'apprendre et de grandir pleinement du stage.

Amanda Hancox
Centre de ressources et de transition pour danseurs
Arts de la scène

Comme plusieurs autres organisations artistiques, les stages font partie intégrale du plan stratégique du Centre de ressources et de transition pour danseurs, plutôt que d'être utilisé que lors de projets spéciaux. Amanda Hancox reconnaît que dans leur petit bureau chacun joue informellement le rôle de mentor et reconnaît la nécessité de dédier du temps pour le ou la stagiaire, idéalement sur une longue période de temps.

Le CRTD expose le ou la stagiaire à une multitude d'expériences, du développement d'activités à la programmation de banques de données et des tâches de gestion au mentorat. Amanda Hancox encourage les organisations à identifier et prendre avantage des connaissances inattendues et des habiletés du ou de la stagiaire.

Marie-Catherine LaPointe
Boulev'Art Inc.
Musique

Boulev'Art Inc. a engagé un stagiaire à un moment critique du développement de l'organisation. Puisqu'ils étaient en période de réorganisation, le stagiaire eu l'occasion d'apprendre davantage sur les différents aspects de la « business » et a développé une vision globale de l'organisation, même s'il fut engagé spécifiquement pour développer le marché national et international.

Marie-Catherine LaPointe trouve qu'être un mentor est une expérience magnifique lorsque le ou la stagiaire s'efforce à obtenir de l'expérience. Elle aime grandement avoir l'occasion d'observer les résultats du travail avec le ou la stagiaire et est impressionée lorsque des jeunes démontrent de l'initiative. Être un mentor est un défi personel pour Mme LaPointe. Cela l'oblige à changer sa méthode de gestion vers une gestion plus personelle, encourageant le partage d'information.

Debbie Nightingale
The Nightingale Company
Cinéma et radiotélédiffusion

Le Nightingale Company trouve que l'opportunité d'entraîner un ou une employé(e) lors d'un stage et de pouvoir ensuite engager cette personne à la fin est particulièrement avantageux. Pour les organisations planifiant établir un programme de stages, Debbie Nightingale suggère vérifier les objectifs du ou de la stagiaire et déterminer si ceux-ci correspondent à leurs besoins et ensuite trouver un manière de les combiner. Elle recommande également aux stagiaires de poser des questions et demander des conseils aux mentors.

Mme Nightingale avoue qu'elle apprend toujours des stagiaires. Elle remarque que les organisations bénéficient de la créativité, de la curiosité intellectuelle et de la nouvelle et différente approches des stagiaires.

Tamara Steinberg
Art Starts Neighbourhood Cultural Centre
Multidisciplinaire

Art Starts Neighbourhood Cultural Centre recommande de trouver des stagiaires enthousiastes, dédiés aux arts et intéressés à utiliser les arts comme un outil de développement et de communication. Lors d'un récent stage, l'organisation a cherché une personne ayant récemment acquis des connaissances en communications. Ils ont ensuite intentionnellement utilisé ces nouvelles compétences afin de développer une trousse de marketing pour leur campagne de financement.

Tamara Steinberg adore être un mentor. Pour elle, la communication n'est non seulement un aspect fondamental de l'organisation, mais également un principe à être utilisé lors des relations avec le ou la stagiaire.