Youth Internship Program

> Becoming a YIP Intern

FAQ - For Interns

What is an internship?

An internship is an on-site work experience that is either directly related to your major field of study or your career interest. Generally, you will have a single person in the workplace who becomes your mentor, assisting and often supervising your work, and sharing information about their own work experience and cultural sector networks.

Who can participate?

Eligible candidates are entry-level and emerging cultural professionals who have graduated from college or university and have recently entered the workforce. You must be unemployed or under-employed, between 15 and 30 years of age (inclusively), a Canadian citizen, a permanent resident or a person who has been granted refugee status in Canada. You may not be in receipt of Employment Insurance benefits immediately before or during the internship and may not have participated in any of the Youth Employment Strategy Work Experience Programs targeted at post-secondary graduates. You also must not have been previously employed by the host organisation.

How can I benefit from an internship?

In addition to wages earned, student work experience is valuable for exploring fields of work that interest you. The internship helps you to develop new skills and strengthen existing ones, and establish professional contacts in the cultural sector. You will also be able to demonstrate cultural sector workplace accomplishments in your résumé.

What do I do if I want to participate in YIP?

CHRC deals directly with employers. If you are interested in participating in the program, you should approach an eligible organisation that you would like to work for and have the organisation apply online.

Can I expect to earn a salary?

Yes! CHRC will provide 50% the intern's remuneration. Generally, the host organisation is expected to match the amount of the contribution. The employer must also provide you with a full-time salaried position (at least 30 hours per week for a minimum period of 16 weeks).

Programme Jeunes stagiaires

> Devenir stagiaire du PJS

Foire aux questions - Pour stagiaires

Qu'est-ce qu'un stage ?

Un stage est une expérience de travail dans le milieu, directement reliée à votre domaine d'études principal ou à une profession qui vous intéresse.

Qui peut participer ?

Les candidat(e)s admissibles sont des professionnel(le)s de la culture ayant obtenu un diplôme collégial ou universitaire et venant d'entrer sur le marché du travail. Ils doivent être sans emploi ou sous-employé(e)s, avoir entre 15 et 30 ans (inclusivement), avoir la citoyenneté canadienne, être des résident(e)s permanent(e)s ou des personnes ayant obtenu le statut de réfugié au Canada. Ils ne doivent pas recevoir de prestations de l'assurance-emploi (immédiatement avant ou pendant le stage) ni avoir participé à un des programmes de la Stratégie emploi jeunesse s'adressant aux diplômés d'études postsecondaires. Ils ne doivent pas non plus avoir déjà été employé par l'organisme hôte.

Quels sont les avantages d'un stage ?

En plus de la rémunération, l'expérience de travail vous permet d'explorer des professions, d'acquérir de nouvelles compétences et de perfectionner celles que vous possédez déjà. L'expérience de travail vous permet aussi d'établir des relations professionnelles dans votre domaine d'intérêt. Vous pourrez également ajouter vos réalisations en milieu de travail dans votre curriculum vitæ.

Que dois-je faire pour participer au Programme Jeunes stagiaires ?

Le CRHSC traite directement avec les employeurs. Si vous voulez participer au programme, vous pouvez communiquer avec un organisme éligible pour lequel vous aimeriez travailler et leur proposer de faire une demande.

Devrais-je m'attendre à avoir une rémunération ?

Oui ! La subvention du CRHSC offre 50% du coût de la rémunération du ou de la stagiaire. En général, l'organisme hôte doit investir une somme égale au financement reçu. L'employeur doit offrir au ou à la stagiaire un poste salarié à temps plein (au moins 30 heures par semaine pendant 16 semaines).