Announcements

> 2007

Press Release

August 2007

CHRC Launches New Training Resource in Rights Management
for the Music Industry

Ottawa - The reality of today's music business is that rapidly advancing technology has spawned new uses and applications that are being brought to market on a constant basis changing the business in a multitude of ways. To help the industry maximize the benefits of these burgeoning opportunities through well informed rights management, CHRC is proud to announce the release of a unique training resource: An Overview of Rights Management for the Music Industry.

Written by two leading Canadian rights experts in the music industry, Brian Chater, former Executive Director of CIRPA, and Stéphane Gilker, lawyer with Fasken Martineau in Montreal, this document includes:

  • An Overview of the Music Industry in Canada
  • Basic Principles of Copyright
  • Case Studies relating to Ring Tones, Synchronisation, Internet Use and DVD's.

It is designed to provide useful day-to-day operational information from both business and legal perspectives. The sections deal with operating and jurisdictional realities across the country, including differences between Quebec and other areas of Canada, explained through theory and practical example in the case studies.

Funded by the Government of Canada's Sector Council Program, this material is designed as the most up-to-date reference material for a Rights Management course taught at the college or university level, or offered by professional associations.

Susan Annis, Executive Director of the Cultural Human Resources Council notes: "In our extensive consultations with the music industry across the country, the need for up-to-date resource material on Rights Management was at the top of most people's list. CHRC is pleased to have engaged two of Canada's most recognized experts on rights in the music industry to prepare this training resource. We are certain that it will be a valuable tool for musicians and educators across the country."

This training resource is available to CHRC members on CHRC's web site (readable only format). If you are interested in using it as a training resource on Rights Management please contact Susan Annis at sannis@culturalhrc.ca or by phone at 613-562-1535 ext. 22.

The Cultural Human Resources Council (CHRC) strives to be at the centre of vision and forward thinking in the area of cultural human resources development. CHRC brings together representatives of arts disciplines and cultural industries in the cultural sector to address the training and career development needs of cultural workers - artists, creators, technical staff, managers and all others engaged professionally in the sector, including the self-employed. To become a member of CHRC please visit our website.

For further information please contact Megan Guy (613-562-1535 x 31; mguy@culturalhrc.ca).

Annonces

> 2007

Communiqué

Août 2007

Le CRHSC lance une nouvelle ressource de formation en
gestion des droits pour l'industrie de la musique

Ottawa - Dans l'industrie de la musique d'aujourd'hui, l'évolution rapide de la technologie a donné naissance à de nouvelles applications, qui font tour à tour leur arrivée sur le marché et qui transforment l'industrie d'une multitude de façons. Afin d'aider l'industrie à optimiser les avantages qu'offrent ces nouvelles possibilités par une gestion bien informée des droits, le CRHSC est fier d'annoncer le lancement d'une ressource de formation unique en son genre : Un aperçu de la gestion des droits dans l'industrie de la musique.

Rédigé par deux des plus grands spécialistes de l'industrie de la musique au Canada, Brian Chater, ancien directeur général de la CIRPA, et Stéphane Gilker, avocat chez Fasken Martineau à Montréal, ce document comprend :

  • Un aperçu de l'industrie de la musique au Canada
  • Les principes de base du droit d'auteur
  • Des études de cas sur les sonneries, la synchronisation, l'utilisation de l'Internet, et le DVD.

Ce document vise à procurer au quotidien des informations opérationnelles du point de vue commercial et juridique. Les différentes sections couvrent les réalités opérationnelles et administratives du Canada, comme les différences entre le Québec et les autres régions du Canada, expliquées par des notions théoriques et des exemples pratiques tirés d'études de cas.

Subventionné par le Programme des conseils sectoriels du gouvernement du Canada, ce programme de formation est, en vertu de son concept, le programme de référence le plus à jour pouvant servir de base à un cours sur la gestion des droits donné au niveau universitaire ou collégial, ou encore par des associations professionnelles.

Susan Annis, directrice générale du Conseil des ressources humaines du secteur culturel, commente : « Au cours de nos nombreux entretiens avec des représentants de l'industrie de la musique de partout au Canada, nous avons remarqué que le besoin de ressources à jour sur la gestion des droits figurait au haut de la liste d'un grand nombre d'entre eux. Le CRHSC est fier de compter sur deux des spécialistes en droits dans l'industrie de la musique les plus reconnus au Canada pour préparer cette ressource de formation. Nous sommes convaincus qu'il s'agira d'un outil de prédilection pour les musiciens et les formateurs de l'ensemble du Canada. »

Cette ressource est disponible à nos membres sur notre site web (lisable seulement). Si vous êtes intéressé à utiliser cette ressource de formation pour donner un cours sur la gestion des droits, veuillez communiquer avec Susan Annis à sannis@culturalhrc.ca, ou par téléphone au 613-562-1535, poste 22.

Le Conseil des ressources humaines du secteur culturel (CRHSC) se veut au centre de l'action et de la réflexion dans le domaine du développement des ressources humaines du secteur culturel. Le CRHSC réunit des représentants de toutes les disciplines culturelles et de l'industrie afin de mieux répondre aux besoins de formation et de perfectionnement professionnel des travailleuses et travailleurs culturels - les artistes, les créateurs, le personnel technique, les gestionnaires et tous les autres professionnels du secteur culturel, y compris les travailleuses et les travailleurs autonomes. Pour devenir membre, il suffit de visiter notre site web.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, prière de communiquer avec Megan Guy (613-562-1535, poste 31; mguy@crhsculturel.ca)