Announcements

> 2007

Press Release

September 2007

Ottawa - The Cultural Human Resources Council (CHRC) is proud to announce the release of a unique online learning module on Research Skills for Documentary Filmmakers.

In association with the Council of Ontario Universities and funded by the Government of Canada's Sector Council Program, this interactive course was developed in close consultation with an Advisory Committee of emerging Documentary Filmmakers. It builds on the conceptual framework of the CHRC's Competency Profile for Documentary Filmmakers to further clarify the roles research skills and document use play in the field of documentary filmmaking.

This learning module is designed to provide Documentary Filmmakers with a set of resources and techniques to prepare for and carry out background research. A series of educational activities pose challenges in conducting research as part of the filmmaking process. These include: defining the scope of research, determining appropriate resources (Internet, archives, periodicals, film/television, etc.), and working within limited financial and time constraints. Content for the module, compromising 2 to 3 hours of engagement, includes information about various facets of carrying out research for documentary films (incorporating, where relevant, audio/visual material); short self-assessment exercises; and interactive "case stories" inviting users to assess and respond to problems that may arise during the research process.

Susan Annis, Executive Director of the Cultural Human Resources Council notes:

CHRC is delighted to add this interactive learning tool to its training offerings. Developed by Documentary Filmmakers for Documentary Filmmakers it addresses, through real life scenarios, the research challenges faced by these film professionals, and offers creative and practical ways of dealing with them.

The online module is available on CHRC's web site.

The Cultural Human Resources Council (CHRC) strives to be at the centre of vision and forward thinking in the area of cultural human resources development. CHRC brings together representatives of arts disciplines and cultural industries in the cultural sector to address the training and career development needs of cultural workers - artists, creators, technical staff, managers and all others engaged professionally in the sector, including the self-employed. To become a member of CHRC please visit our website.

For further information please contact Megan Guy (613-562-1535 x 31; mguy@culturalhrc.ca).

Annonces

> 2007

Communiqué

Septembre 2007

Ottawa - Le Conseil des ressources humaines du secteur culturel (CRHSC) est fier d'annoncer le lancement d'un cours en ligne unique en son genre sur La recherche et l'utilisation de documents.

Avec l'aide du Conseil des universités de l'Ontario et le soutien financier du Programme des conseils sectoriels du gouvernement du Canada, il a été possible d'élaborer ce cours interactif en étroite collaboration avec un comité consultatif composé de jeunes documentaristes. Ce module se base sur Profil de compétences pour les documentaristes du CRHSC qui clarifie les rôles qu'occupent les aptitudes de recherche et l'utilisation de documents dans la production de films documentaires.

Ce module d'apprentissage est conçu pour offrir aux documentaristes un ensemble de ressources et de techniques de préparation et de réalisation de recherches de base. Une série d'activités éducatives présentent des défis liés à la recherche lors du processus de création cinématographique. Ces défis consistent à définir l'ampleur de la recherche, déterminer les ressources à utiliser (Internet, archives, périodiques, cinéma/télévision, etc.), et travailler à l'intérieur de contraintes financières et de temps. Le contenu du module, qui se parcourt en 2 à 3 heures, propose de l'information sur plusieurs facettes de la recherche pour films documentaires (y compris, le cas échéant, des outils audio-visuels), des  exercices d'auto-évaluation, et des études de cas interactives qui invitent les usagers à se pencher sur certains problèmes qui peuvent survenir lors des recherches et à y réagir.

Susan Annis, directrice générale du Conseil des ressources humaines du secteur culturel, commente :

« Le CRHSC est heureux d'ajouter cet outil d'apprentissage interactif à ses offres de formation. Conçu par des documentaristes pour des documentaristes à l'aide de scénarios réels, le cours traite des défis liés à la recherche que et propose des façons créatives et pratiques d'y parvenir. »

Ce module en ligne se trouve sur le site du CRHSC.

Le Conseil des ressources humaines du secteur culturel (CRHSC) se veut au centre de l'action et de la réflexion dans le domaine du développement des ressources humaines du secteur culturel. Le CRHSC réunit des représentants de toutes les disciplines culturelles et de l'industrie afin de mieux répondre aux besoins de formation et de perfectionnement professionnel des travailleuses et travailleurs culturels - les artistes, les créateurs, le personnel technique, les gestionnaires et tous les autres professionnels du secteur culturel, y compris les travailleuses et les travailleurs autonomes. Pour devenir membre du CRHSC, consultez notre site Web.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec Megan Guy (613-562-1535, poste 31 - mguy@crhsculturel.ca)