Announcements

> 2008

Press Release

The Business of Music - a National Training Strategy for
Business Skills in the Music Industry

The Cultural Human Resources Council (CHRC) is pleased to announce the release of The Business of Music, a National Training Strategy for Business Skills in the Music Industry. This document will serve as a road map for training in the rapidly evolving music industry as it confronts the challenges and reaps the benefits of globalization and new technology.

Over the past two years, CHRC has consulted widely with music industry representatives in regional meetings across the country and in two national roundtables, to determine the training gaps that have to be addressed; and with educators in public and private institutions to identify current training offerings. The Business of Music provides a synthesis of the findings of these consultations; and a series of best practices and recommendations to help the industry meet its training needs.

The recommendations are grouped around five themes: Professional Development, Formal Education, Internships, Regional Access and Delivery, and Infrastructure and Funding.

One of the key recommendations is the creation of a National Training Advisory Council (NTAC) for the Music Industry: "to encourage, facilitate and oversee the implementation of the recommendations of the National Training Strategy". It will be made up of representatives of music industry associations, provincial music industry associations (MIAs), educational institutions, and government departments responsible for policy and funding.

The Business of Music can be found on CHRC's web site.

The Cultural Human Resources Council (CHRC) strives to be at the centre of vision and forward thinking in the area of cultural human resources development. CHRC brings together representatives of arts disciplines and cultural industries in the cultural sector to address the training and career development needs of cultural workers - artists, creators, technical staff, managers and all others engaged professionally in the sector, including the self-employed. To become a member of CHRC please visit the Membership section of our website.

Annonces

> 2008

Communiqué

Vivre de la musique :
Une stratégie nationale de formation sur les compétences
en affaires dans l'industrie de la musique

Le Conseil des ressources humaines du secteur culturel (CRHSC) est fier d'annoncer la publication de Vivre de la musique, une stratégie nationale de formation sur les compétences en affaires dans l'industrie de la musique. Le document servira de carte routière de la formation pour l'industrie de la musique qui subit non seulement une évolution très rapide mais doit aussi relever les défis de la mondialisation et des nouvelles technologies et en retirer tous les avantages possibles.

Au cours des deux dernières années, le CRHSC a consulté des représentantes et représentants de l'industrie de la musique lors de rencontres régionales qui ont eu lieu un peu partout au pays et de deux tables rondes nationales. Ces consultations nous ont permis de déterminer quelles sont les lacunes à combler dans la formation et de bien cerner quelles sont les offres de formation des établissements d'enseignements publics et privés. Vivre de la musique présente les résultats des consultations et propose une série de meilleures pratiques et de recommandations pour aider l'industrie à répondre à ses besoins de formation.

Les recommandations sont regroupées en cinq grands thèmes : le perfectionnement professionnel, la formation structurée, les stages, l'accès et la prestation de la formation en région ainsi que l'infrastructure et le financement.

L'une des principales recommandation de la stratégie est de créer un conseil consultatif national sur la formation pour l'industrie de la musique « afin d'encourager, de faciliter et de superviser la mise en ouvre des recommandations de la stratégie nationale de formation ». Le conseil consultatif sera composé de représentantes et représentants des associations nationales et provinciales de l'industrie de la musique, des établissements d'enseignement et des ministères responsables des politiques et du financement dans ce domaine.

Vous pouvez consulter Vivre de la musique sur le site Web du CRHSC.

Le Conseil des ressources humaines du secteur culturel se veut au centre de l'action et de la réflexion dans le domaine du développement des ressources humaines du secteur culturel. Le CRHSC réunit des représentants de toutes les disciplines culturelles et de l'industrie afin de mieux répondre aux besoins de formation et de perfectionnement professionnel des travailleuses et travailleurs culturels - les artistes, les créateurs, le personnel technique, les gestionnaires et tous les autres professionnels du secteur culturel, y compris les travailleuses et les travailleurs autonomes. Pour devenir membre du CRHSC, veuillez visiter notre site Web.