Announcements

> 2008

Press Release

CHRC launches course on "Setting up a New Media Business"

May 21, 2008

The Cultural Human Resources Council (CHRC) is pleased to announce the availability to teachers and trainers of online course content on "Setting up a New Media Business".

Over the past few years we have witnessed a burgeoning of the New Media industry in Canada, giving rise to giants like Ubisoft and Electronic Arts, and thousands of micro and small New Media businesses and independent content creators and producers who are feeding the industry.

As noted in the course introduction: "One of the big challenges [NM entrepreneurs] are facing is how to set up a viable business that will allow them to profit from their skills and talent. They need to be savvy about the business side of New Media ... Given the great importance of nurturing the New Media industry at its roots through small and medium-sized companies, [CHRC] has identified the need for training for New Media artists and producers in the area of setting up a New Media business."

This comprehensive course material has been prepared in close consultation with successful New Media entrepreneurs and educators. It includes chapters on business marketing and management, business administration, and professional development opportunities; and describes in detail best practices drawn from New Media companies across the country.

Teachers and trainers who are interested in this material on "Setting up a New Media Business" should contact Susan Annis, Executive Director, at sannis@culturalhrc.ca or 613-562-1535 ext.22.

This project is funded by the Government of Canada's Sector Council Program.

The Cultural Human Resources Council (CHRC) strives to be at the centre of vision and forward thinking in the area of cultural human resources development. CHRC brings together representatives of arts disciplines and cultural industries in the cultural sector to address the training and career development needs of cultural workers - artists, creators, technical staff, managers and all others engaged professionally in the sector, including the self-employed. To become a member of CHRC please visit our website.

Annonces

> 2008

Communiqué

Le CRHSC lance le cours « Démarrage d'une entreprise en
nouveaux medias au Canada
»

Le 21 mai 2008

Le Conseil des ressources humaines du secteur culturel (CRHSC) a le plaisir d'annoncer le lancement du cours en ligne « Démarrage d'une entreprise en nouveaux medias au Canada » à l'intention des enseignants et formateurs.

Depuis quelques années, nous avons été témoins au Canada de l'expansion de l'industrie des nouveaux médias. Les géants Ubisoft et Electronics Arts et une multitude de petites entreprises, de créateurs de contenus indépendants et de producteurs tiennent une place prépondérante dans l'industrie des nouveaux médias.

Ainsi qu'il en est fait mention dans l'introduction du cours : « Un des grands challenges auxquels [les entreprises en nouveaux médias] ont à faire face est de mettre en place une industrie viable qui leur permettra de tirer profit de leurs compétences et de leurs talents. Elles doivent faire preuve de souplesse pour naviguer dans le courant de ce nouveau business...À cause de l'importance de bien s'implanter par l'entremise de petites et moyennes entreprises, le CRHSC a identifié les besoins en formation pour les artistes et producteurs en nouveaux médias. »

Le contenu du cours a été préparé en concertation avec des entrepreneurs déjà bien établis et des éducateurs. Le cours comprend des éléments de marketing, de management, d'administration et de possibilités de développement professionnel. On y décrit en détails les meilleures pratiques tirées de l'expérience de compagnies en nouveaux médias de tous le pays.

Les enseignants et les formateurs intéressés par le contenu du cours « Démarrage d'une entreprise en nouveaux medias au Canada » doivent contacter Susan Annis, directrice générale, à sannis@culturalhrc.ca ou 613-562-1535 ext.22.

Ce projet est financé par le Gouvernement du Canada par l'entremise du Programme des conseils sectoriels.

Le Conseil des ressources humaines du secteur culturel (CRHSC) se veut au centre de l'action et de la réflexion dans le domaine du développement des ressources humaines du secteur culturel. Le CRHSC réunit des représentants de toutes les disciplines culturelles et de l'industrie afin de mieux répondre aux besoins de formation et de perfectionnement professionnel des travailleuses et travailleurs culturels - les artistes, les créateurs, le personnel technique, les gestionnaires et tous les autres professionnels du secteur culturel, y compris les travailleuses et les travailleurs autonomes. Pour devenir membre du CRHSC, consultez notre site Web.