Announcements

> 2008

Press Release

CHRC releases Training Gaps Analysis for
Below-the-Line Film and Television Workers

May 30th, 2008

The Cultural Human Resources Council (CHRC) is pleased to announce the release of a Training Gaps Analysis (TGA) for Below-the-Line Film and Television Workers. This snapshot of training needs and offerings will help guide the industry and its National Training Advisory Council (NTAC) in the effective deployment of the country's training resources.

The TGA outlines two major training challenges: "Boom or Bust" - the volatile nature of the industry; and "Turf Wars" - based on fear of redundancy, distrust and competition.

It then goes on to look at general training gaps related to entry level, emerging, and senior workers.

Finally, the TGA provides thumbnail sketches of job-specific training gaps in positions under the following categories: production staff, assistant directors, production design, grip and electric, camera, sound, and post-production.

All in all the TGA makes 32 recommendations and includes many best practices from across the country to inspire and instruct.

A roundtable of below-the-line workers, unions, associations and funders from across Canada met in Ottawa to review and validate the report before it was finalized. CHRC and the NTAC will be discussing ways to follow up on the recommendations. For example, CHRC will be developing course content to help provide the skills needed by production accountants.

This document can be found on the CHRC website.

The Cultural Human Resources Council (CHRC) strives to be at the centre of vision and forward thinking in the area of cultural human resources development. CHRC brings together representatives of arts disciplines and cultural industries in the cultural sector to address the training and career development needs of cultural workers - artists, creators, technical staff, managers and all others engaged professionally in the sector, including the self-employed. To become a member of CHRC please visit our website.

For further information please contact Megan Guy (613-562-1535 x31; mguy@culturalhrc.ca)

Annonces

> 2008

Communiqué

Le CRHSC a le plaisir d'annoncer le lancement de l'Analyse des lacunes dans la formation pour les professions techniques du cinéma et de la télévision

Le 30 mai 2008

Le Conseil des ressources humaines du secteur culturel (CRHSC) a le plaisir d'annoncer le lancement de l'Analyse des lacunes dans la formation (ALF) pour les professions techniques du cinéma et de la télévision. Cet aperçu des besoins et des offres en formation servira de guide à l'industrie et au Conseil consultatif national de la formation (CCNF) pour le déploiement efficace des ressources en formation du pays.

L'ALF souligne deux défis majeurs en formation: « Essor ou chute libre » - le côté imprévisible de l'industrie; et « Guerres de territoire » - méfiance, compétition, et crainte de former de nouveaux travailleurs et de se retrouver au chômage.

L'analyse porte également sur les lacunes générales en formation au niveau débutant, intermédiaire et sénior.

Finalement, l'ALF offre une esquisse des lacunes pour la formation en entreprise pour les postes suivants : personnel de production, assistant à la réalisation, production design, machiniste et éclairagiste, caméra, son, et postproduction.

En tout et partout, on trouve dans l'ALF, à titre d'information et d'inspiration, 32 recommandations et quelques unes des meilleures pratiques misent en oeuvre au pays.

Les syndicats, associations et bailleurs de fond de tout le Canada ont participé à une table ronde à Ottawa pour réviser et valider le rapport avant qu'il ne soit finalisé. Le CRHSC et le CCNF discuteront des manières de faire le suivi des recommandations. À titre d'exemple, le CRHSC va développer un cours pour aider les comptables de production à acquérir les compétences requises.

Ce document se trouve sur le site Web du CRHSC.

Le Conseil des ressources humaines du secteur culturel (CRHSC) se veut au centre de l'action et de la réflexion dans le domaine du développement des ressources humaines du secteur culturel. Le CRHSC réunit des représentants de toutes les disciplines culturelles et de l'industrie afin de mieux répondre aux besoins de formation et de perfectionnement professionnel des travailleuses et travailleurs culturels - les artistes, les créateurs, le personnel technique, les gestionnaires et tous les autres professionnels du secteur culturel, y compris les travailleuses et les travailleurs autonomes. Pour devenir membre du CRHSC, consultez notre site Web.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, communiquez avec Megan Guy (613-562-1535, poste 31; mguy@crhsculturel.ca).