Announcements

> 2008

Press Release

Launching Today! Book Marketing in an Online World

June 18th, 2008

We gather information, chat online, social network, shop, even order takeout. The same holds true for the book publishing industry. Book lovers, book readers, book buyers and authors are online writing, conversing, critiquing and purchasing.

According to Statistics Canada's 2005 Canadian Internet Use Survey (CIUS) of Canadians who purchased over $7.9 billion worth of goods and services over the Internet, 35% purchased books, magazines and online newspapers. We also know that consumers are researching and browsing for books online that they will then purchase offline.

It's time to get ahead of the game.

CHRC is pleased to launch Book Marketing in an Online World, a new training resource intended to train publishing staff, at all levels, on the ins and outs of online marketing. Comprised of six modules written by different contributors all involved in book publishing, its chapters include: Developing a Strategic Online Book Marketing Plan; Knowing Your Market; Dynamic Websites; Understanding Social Networks and Other Web 2.0 Applications; Building and Sustaining an Online Audience; and, Rights Management.

Educators and trainers are able to adapt each to their curricula or use as stand alone courses. Teachers and trainers who are interested in Book Marketing in an Online World are invited to contact Susan Annis, Executive Director, at sannis@culturalhrc.ca or 613-562-1535 ext. 22.

This project is funded by the Government of Canada's Sector Council Program.

Annonces

> 2008

Communiqué

La Commercialisation de livres dans le monde virtuel

Le 18 juin 2008

Pour ceux et celles qui aiment les livres, qui aiment les lire, qui aiment les acheter ou qui aiment les écrire...

Selon l'Enquête canadienne sur l'utilisation d'Internet (2005), les Canadiens ont acheté plus de 7,9 billions de dollars de produits et de services par Internet ; de ceux-ci 35 pour cent ont acheté des livres, des magazines et des journaux en ligne. En plus, les consommateurs font souvent leurs recherches en ligne pour ensuite acheter des livres ailleurs qu'en ligne.

Vous voulez en savoir plus?

Le CRHSC annonce le lancement d'une nouvelle resource: La Commercialisation de livres dans le monde virtuel. Créée à l'intention du personnel du domaine de l'Édition, cet outil de formation sur la commercialisation en ligne a été développé par plusieurs collaborateurs qui travaillent dans le monde de l'Édition du livre. L'outil comprend six modules : Développement d'un plan de commercialisation en ligne pour la vente de livres ; La connaissance de votre marché ; Des sites Web dynamiques ; La compréhension des réseaux sociaux et d'autres applications Web 2.0 ; La construction et le maintien d'un public en ligne ; et, La gestion de droits.

Les enseignants et les formateurs intéressés à obtenir le matériel de cours sur la « Commercialisation de livres dans le monde virtuel » sont priés de communiquer avec Susan Annis, directrice générale, sannis@culturalhrc.ca ou 613-562-1535 poste 22.

Ce projet est financé par le Gouvernement du Canada par l'entremise du Programme des conseils sectoriels.