Announcements

> 2009

CHRC releases Canadian Magazine Industry Compensation Survey

March 11, 2009

The Cultural Human Resources Council (CHRC) is pleased to announce the availability of the first national compensation survey of the Canadian magazine industry.

CHRC, in close collaboration with Magazines Canada, and with the help of representatives of large and small magazine publishers across the country oversaw the work of consultants from Mercer to carry out this comprehensive analysis. After an industry-wide invitation in October 2008, 113 publications represented by 29 organisations chose to participate.

Magazines Canada describes this compensation study as "an invaluable planning tool for Canadian publishers of all sizes who participated in the initiative. We very much appreciate CHRC's commitment to this groundbreaking project."

The Survey includes findings for the base salary, actual total cash (including incentives), and the median salary for 21 positions in the magazine publishing industry, including Art Director, Graphic Designer, Marketing Manager, Production Editor, Publisher, Researcher and Feature Writers and others.

The Survey can be found on CHRC's web site.

The Cultural Human Resources Council (CHRC) is committed to strengthening the cultural labour force, and strives to be at the centre of vision and forward thinking in the area of cultural human resources development. CHRC brings together representatives of arts disciplines and cultural industries in the cultural sector to address the training and career development needs of employers and cultural workers including artists, technical staff and managers To become a member of CHRC please visit our website.

This project is funded by the Government of Canada's Sector Council Program.

For further information please contact Geneviève Chassé (613-562-1535 x31; gchasse@culturalhrc.ca)

Annonces

> 2009

Lancement de l'Enquête sur la rémunération dans le secteur
des magazines au Canada

Le 11 mars 2009

Le Conseil des ressources humaines du secteur culturel (CRHSC) a le plaisir de rendre public la première étude sur la rémunération de l'industrie canadienne du magazine.

Le CRHSC, en étroite collaboration avec Magazines Canada et avec l'aide de représentants de grands et petits éditeurs de magazines d'à travers le pays ont supervisé le travail des consultants de Mercer pour mener à bien cette analyse exhaustive. À la suite d'une invitation à l'ensemble de l'industrie en octobre 2008, 113 publications représentées par 29 organismes ont choisi de participer à l'étude.

Magazines Canada décrit cette étude sur la rémunération comme « un outil inestimable de planification pour les éditeurs canadiens qui ont participé au projet, quelle que soit leur taille. Nous apprécions beaucoup la participation du CRHSC dans ce projet novateur. »

L'enquête inclue des constatations pour le salaire de base, rémunération totale en espèces réelle (incluant les primes), ainsi que la médiane des salaires pour 21 postes dans l'industrie de la publication de magazines, incluant chef de la publication, chef de marketing, directeur artistique, graphiste, directeur de la publication, recherchiste, rédacteur en chef et plusieurs autres.

L'enquête est disponible sur le site web du CRHSC.

Le Conseil des ressources humaines du secteur culturel (CRHSC) s'est engagé à renforcer les moyens dont dispose l'ensemble des employeurs et des travailleurs du secteur culturel et cherche à se placer à l'avant-garde en matière de vision et de pensée dans le domaine du développement des ressources humaines dans le secteur culturel. Le CRHSC réunit des représentants des disciplines artistiques et des industries du secteur culturel qui se penchent sur les besoins de formation et de développement de carrière des employeurs et des travailleurs culturels, y compris les artistes, le personnel technique et les gestionnaires. Pour devenir membre du CRHSC, veuillez consulter notre site Web.

Ce projet est financé par l'entremise du Programme des conseils sectoriels du Gouvernement du Canada.

Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec Geneviève Chassé au 613-562-1535, poste 31 ou par courriel à gchasse@culturalhrc.ca.