Announcements

> 2010

HRSDC opens EI Special Benefits to the Self-Employed

January 19, 2010

In a press release issued just before Christmas, the federal government announced that Royal Assent has been given to the Fairness for the Self-Employed Act.

This is legislation that the cultural sector has been pressing for, for many years. Self-employed Canadians will be able to voluntarily opt into the EI program effective January 31, 2010, in order to take advantage of the EI special benefits. "Special benefits provided to self-employed individuals will mirror those currently available to salaried employees under the EI program."

Regulations are still being written, but the commitment has been made and the option for the self-employed to access a social security net as do employees will soon be in place. "Self employed Canadians who choose to take advantage of EI special benefits will be required to opt into the program at least one year prior to claiming benefits, and will be responsible for making premium payments for the tax year in which they apply to the program. [...] As a transitional measure those who register on or before April 1, 2010, will be able to collect benefits as early as January 1, 2011."

As of January 31, 2010, it will be possible to register with the EI program through the Service Canada website.


The Cultural Human Resources Council (CHRC) is committed to strengthening the cultural labour force, and strives to be at the centre of vision and forward thinking in the area of cultural human resources development. CHRC brings together representatives of arts disciplines and cultural industries in the cultural sector to address the training and career development needs of employers and cultural workers including artists, technical staff and managers To become a member of CHRC please visit our website.

For further information please contact Geneviève Chassé (613-562-1535 x31; gchasse@culturalhrc.ca)

Annonces

> 2010

RHDCC élargit l'accès aux prestations spéciales d'assurance-emploi aux travailleurs autonomes

Le 19 janvier 2010

Dans un communiqué publié quelques jours avant Noël, le gouvernement fédéral a annoncé que la loi sur l'équité pour les travailleurs indépendants a reçu la sanction royale.

Depuis plusieurs années, le secteur culturel fait pression afin d'obtenir ces prestations pour ses travailleurs autonomes. Les travailleurs autonomes canadiens pourront choisir de participer au régime d'assurance emploi à compter du 31 janvier 2010 afin d'avoir accès aux prestations spéciales. « Les prestations spéciales pour les travailleurs autonomes reflèteront celles qui sont actuellement accessibles aux travailleurs salariés dans le cadre du régime assurance-emploi. »

Le règlement n'est pas encore rédigé, mais l'engagement a été fait. Les travailleurs autonomes auront bientôt l'option d'accéder à des bénéfices de sécurité sociale tout comme les travailleurs salariés. « Les travailleurs autonomes qui souhaitent se prévaloir des prestations spéciales devront participer au régime au moins un an avant de pouvoir réclamer des prestations. » Dans le cadre d'une mesure de transition, ceux qui s'inscriront d'ici le 1er avril 2010 pourront percevoir des prestations dès le 1er janvier 2011.

Il sera possible, à partir du 31 janvier 2010, de vous enregistrer au programme d'assurance-emploi sur le site Web de Service Canada.


Le Conseil des ressources humaines du secteur culturel (CRHSC) s'est engagé à renforcer les moyens dont dispose l'ensemble des employeurs et des travailleurs du secteur culturel et cherche à se placer à l'avant-garde en matière de vision et de pensée dans le domaine du développement des ressources humaines dans le secteur culturel. Le CRHSC réunit des représentants des disciplines artistiques et des industries du secteur culturel qui se penchent sur les besoins de formation et de développement de carrière des employeurs et des travailleurs culturels, y compris les artistes, le personnel technique et les gestionnaires. Pour devenir membre du CRHSC, veuillez consulter notre site Web.

Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec Geneviève Chassé au 613-562-1535, poste 31 ou par courriel à gchasse@culturalhrc.ca.