Announcements

> 2010

Bringing Your Career to Another Level
The Art of Managing Your Career

February 23, 2010

Since its publication in 2002, The Art of Managing Your Career has been an essential resource guide for self-employed artists and cultural workers in live performing arts; writing and publishing; visual arts and craft; film, television and broadcasting; digital media; music and sound recording; and heritage.

Over the years, building on the strong interest in the cultural sector for this document, CHRC has developed a series of complementary resources to enhance its content and to assist in using it as a teaching tool.

In 2007, CHRC added the discipline enhancements. Developed by artists and cultural workers, they provide emerging self-employed artists and cultural workers with pertinent and practical information to better manage their careers. The enhancements offer information, resources, tips & pitfalls, and links to relevant websites in eight disciplines: crafts; dance and choreography; film and television; music and sound recording; digital media; theatre; visual arts; and writing.

To assist teachers in delivering the material, CHRC developed a Teacher's Guide. The Guide provides suggestions about how to use The Art of Managing Your Career to introduce emerging artists to basic principles and practices of career planning and career development as self-employed workers. The Guide is most used by teachers at the high school level.

In 2009, to respond to the changes in the cultural sector over the past five years, CHRC updated the 2002 version of The Art of Managing Your Career to include fresh and original examples, brand-new links to useful websites, and up-to-date information on finance and technology.

Then this year, CHRC developed Course Modules for The Art of Managing Your Career for delivery at the post-secondary level through colleges, universities and professional associations. The 16 Course Modules are designed for artists and cultural workers from all disciplines. They include numerous handouts that will give working artists and cultural workers the confidence and knowledge to successfully manage their careers or businesses in the cultural sector. Based on adult education principals, the modules are highly participatory and provide opportunities to practice and use skills and competencies essential to self-management. The material is presently available in English only; a French version is in development.

Visit our website for additional information.


The Cultural Human Resources Council (CHRC) is committed to strengthening the cultural labour force, and strives to be at the centre of vision and forward thinking in the area of cultural human resources development. CHRC brings together representatives of arts disciplines and cultural industries in the cultural sector to address the training and career development needs of employers and cultural workers including artists, technical staff and managers To become a member of CHRC please visit our website.

For further information please contact Geneviève Chassé (613-562-1535 x31; gchasse@culturalhrc.ca)

Annonces

> 2010

Rehaussez votre carrière avec
l'Art de gérer sa carrière

Le 23 février 2010

Depuis sa publication en 2002, l'Art de gérer sa carrière a été un guide essentiel pour les artistes et les travailleuses et travailleurs autonomes du secteur culturel: arts de la scène, création littéraire et édition, arts visuels et métiers d'art, cinéma et radiotélédiffusion, médias numériques, musique et enregistrement sonore et patrimoine.

L'Art de gérer sa carrière a connu un grand succès au cours des années. Afin de répondre aux divers besoins du secteur, le CRHSC a développé une série de ressources complémentaires afin de rehausser son contenu et d'aider les enseignantes et les enseignants à utiliser le matériel comme outil éducatif.

En 2007, le CRHSC a ajouté les fiches spécifiques aux disciplines. Développées par des artistes et des travailleuses et travailleurs culturels, elles fournissent aux artistes indépendants et aux travailleuses et travailleurs culturels en émergence des renseignements pratiques et pertinents à leur milieu culturel qui leur permettront de mieux gérer leur carrière. Les fiches offrent des renseignements, des ressources, des trucs et astuces et des liens vers des sites Web utiles pour huit disciplines, soit : métiers d'art, danse et chorégraphie, cinéma et télévision, musique et enregistrement sonore, médias numériques, théâtre, arts visuels et création littéraire.

Afin d'aider les enseignantes et les enseignants à enrichir leur matériel, le CRHSC a développé un Guide de l'enseignant(e). Le Guide suggère à l'enseignante ou à l'enseignant des manières d'utiliser L'Art de gérer sa carrière pour présenter aux étudiantes et étudiants les principes et les pratiques de base de la planification de carrière ainsi que du développement et du cheminement en tant que travailleuse ou travailleur autonome. Le Guide est de plus en plus utilisé par des enseignantes et des enseignants au niveau secondaire.

Au cours des cinq dernières années, beaucoup a changé dans le secteur culturel. Afin de refléter ce monde en constante évolution, le CRHSC a mis à jour, en 2009, l'Art de gérer sa carrière afin d'inclure des exemples à jour, des liens vers plusieurs sites très utiles et des renseignements dans les domaines des finances et de la technologie.

Cette année, le CRHSC a développé des "Course Modules" pour l'Art de gérer sa carrière, un contenu de cours conçu pour les niveaux collégial et universitaire et pour les associations professionnelles. Ce contenu de cours est disponible en anglais seulement; le matériel pour les francophones est en voie d'élaboration.

Visitez notre site Web pour de plus amples renseignements.


Le Conseil des ressources humaines du secteur culturel (CRHSC) s'est engagé à renforcer les moyens dont dispose l'ensemble des employeurs et des travailleurs du secteur culturel et cherche à se placer à l'avant-garde en matière de vision et de pensée dans le domaine du développement des ressources humaines dans le secteur culturel. Le CRHSC réunit des représentants des disciplines artistiques et des industries du secteur culturel qui se penchent sur les besoins de formation et de développement de carrière des employeurs et des travailleurs culturels, y compris les artistes, le personnel technique et les gestionnaires. Pour devenir membre du CRHSC, veuillez consulter notre site Web.

Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec Geneviève Chassé au 613-562-1535, poste 31 ou par courriel à gchasse@culturalhrc.ca.