Announcements

> 2011

CHRC releases HR tools for the magazine industry

October 5th 2011

Over the past two years, the Cultural Human Resources Council (CHRC) has been working closely with Magazines Canada to address the challenges the magazine industry is facing as a result of the recent economic recession, and more broadly as a result of the rapid transformative effect of digital technology on every aspect of the industry.

CHRC is pleased to announce the release of a series of HR tools developed collaboratively with industry professionals in response to their needs.

  • Magazine Publishing Competency Chart and Profile: Created by an expert working group of practising professionals, the chart and profile provide an occupational analysis for the magazine publishing functions. They identify all the tasks that must be performed to publish a magazine. Both the chart and the profile can be used by trainers and educators to develop curriculum, by employers to create job descriptions, and by the self-employed to assess their skills and their training needs.

  • Training Gap Analysis: This document, including a training offerings survey, a training needs assessment, a training gaps analysis and recommendations relating to curriculum, identifies the training required to fill the gaps between industry needs and training opportunities.

  • Four online courses: These training resources, developed by industry professionals, address the digitisation of the editorial, advertising, production and distribution functions of the magazine industry. The courses, which will be available to educators, trainers and employers by contacting CHRC, will be launched next week!

Mark Jamison, CEO of Magazines Canada, acknowledges the value of these tools to the industry: "Magazines Canada is pleased and proud to have participated closely with CHRC on the development of these valuable tools for the magazine publishing industry. They will help to identify training gaps and needs, and guide educators and trainers in ensuring that our industry has highly skilled professionals to continue producing the quality publications that Canadians expect."

The Cultural Human Resources Council (CHRC) is committed to strengthening the cultural labour force, and strives to be at the centre of vision and forward thinking in the area of cultural human resources development.

These projects are funded by the Government of Canada's Sector Council Program.

- 30 -

For information:
Susan Annis, Executive Director
613-562-1535, ext. 22
sannis@culturalhrc.ca
www.culturalhrc.ca

Annonces

> 2011

Le CRHSC lance des outils de ressources humaines
pour l'industrie de l'édition de magazines

Le 5 octobre 2011

Au cours des deux dernières années, le Conseil des ressources humaines du secteur culturel (CRHSC) a collaboré étroitement avec Magazines Canada pour créer les outils qui permettront à l'industrie de relever les défis liés à la récente récession économique, mais également à la transformation rapide qu'a provoquée la technologie numérique sur tous les aspects de l'industrie.

Le CRHSC est heureux d'annoncer le lancement d'une série d'outils de ressources humaines créés en collaboration avec les professionnels de l'industrie pour répondre aux besoins de l'industrie.

  • Charte et profil de compétences de l'édition de magazines - Créés par un groupe de travail composé de spécialistes de l'industrie, la charte et le profil de compétences permettent de faire une analyse de profession des fonctions de l'édition de magazines. Ils définissent l'ensemble des tâches qui doivent être effectuées pour publier un magazine. La charte et le profil peuvent être utilisés par les formateurs pour élaborer des programmes d'études, par les employeurs pour créer des descriptions d'emplois et par les travailleurs autonomes pour évaluer leurs compétences et leurs besoins de formation.

  • Analyse des lacunes dans la formation - Le document, qui comprend une enquête sur les offres de formation, une évaluation des besoins de formation, une analyse des lacunes dans la formation et des recommandations pour les programmes d'études, définit quelle est la formation nécessaire pour combler l'écart entre les besoins de l'industrie et les possibilités de formation.

  • Quatre cours en ligne - Ces nouvelles ressources, créées par des professionnels de l'industrie, portent sur la numérisation des fonctions d'éditorial, de publicité, de production et de diffusion de l'industrie du magazine. Les établissements d'enseignement et de formation ainsi que les employeurs pourront bientôt communiquer avec le CRHSC pour les obtenir. Le lancement des cours aura lieu la semaine prochaine !

Mark Jamison, PDG de Magazines Canada, reconnaît la valeur de ces outils pour l'industrie : « Magazines Canada est fier de sa collaboration avec le CRHSC afin de développer ces outils pour l'industrie de l'édition de magazines. Ils serviront à identifier les lacunes et les besoins en formation et guideront les éducateurs et les formateurs pour qu'ils s'assurent que les professionnels de notre industrie soient hautement qualifiés en vue de continuer à produire les publications de haute qualité auxquelles les Canadiens s'attendent. »

Le Conseil des ressources humaines du secteur culturel s'est engagé à renforcer la population active du secteur culturel et à être la force motrice de la vision et de la pensée qui animent le développement des ressources humaines de la culture.

Ce projet est financé par le Programme des conseils sectoriels du Gouvernement du Canada.

- 30 -

Renseignements :
Susan Annis, directrice générale
613-562-1535, poste 22
sannis@crhsculturel.ca
www.crhsculturel.ca