Announcements

> 2012

September 28th, 2012

DUX Award winner to give $1000 to organisations of his choice

The CHRC presents the DUX award to Jeff Cummings

The CHRC presents the DUX award to Jeff Cummings

The Cultural Human Resources Council (CHRC) is proud to announce the winner of this year's DUX Award, a mentor in the cultural sector who has demonstrated a sustained commitment to mentoring: Jeff Cummings.

The prize is a donation by CHRC of $1,000 to an organisation or organisations of the winner's choice. Jeff has decided to direct the prize to four organisations who will each receive $250: Western Canada Theatre (Kamloops, BC), Alberta Theatre Projects (Calgary, AB), National Theatre School of Canada (Montreal, QC), and Young People's Theatre (Toronto, ON).

While there were several very worthy nominations (the cultural sector is full of wonderful mentors who have changed/are changing lives and careers!), the selection committee decided that Jeff's outstanding contributions, and the glowing letters from his nominator and supporters, lifted his name above the rest. In the opening words of the nomination form:

"For over 25 years Jeff Cummings has been sharing his drive, passion and love of theatre with practitioners from across Canada and beyond. Whether teaching classes at Cariboo College (now Thompson Rivers University) or at the National Theatre School of Canada, or perhaps leading a new team of volunteers at Sagebrush Theatre in Kamloops, Chinook Theatre in Edmonton, or any of a dozen other theatres, festivals and events he has worked at, Jeff has always been a strong leader whose work is admired and emulated. He is, in fact, the epitome of what a mentor should be."

DUX is the Latin word for leader, and with the creation of this annual award, CHRC honours Canada's cultural HR leaders who have contributed to the dynamic and inspiring cultural life we enjoy in this country. In 2012, CHRC honoured those unsung heroes who selflessly dedicate their time and energies to nurture young talent: mentors. The award ceremony took place at CHRC's HR Forum 2012 at the Radisson Hotel Admiral Toronto - Harbourfront.

The Cultural Human Resources Council (CHRC) is committed to strengthening the cultural labour force, and strives to be at the centre of vision and forward thinking in the area of cultural human resources development. CHRC brings together representatives of arts disciplines and cultural industries in the cultural sector to address the training and career development needs of employers and cultural workers including artists, technical staff and managers.

-30-

For information:
Susan Annis
Executive Director
613-562-1535, ext. 22
sannis@culturalhrc.ca
www.culturalhrc.ca

Annonces

> 2012

Le 28 septembre, 2012

Le lauréat du Prix DUX donnera 1000 $ aux organisations de son choix

Le CRHSC remet le Prix DUX à Jeff Cummings

Le CRHSC remet le Prix DUX à Jeff Cummings

Le Conseil des ressources humaines du secteur culturel (CRHSC) est heureux d'annoncer le gagnant du Prix DUX de cette année, un mentor dans le secteur culturel qui a démontré un engagement soutenu envers le mentorat : Jeff Cummings.

Le prix est un don par le CRHSC de 1000 $ à une organisation ou des organisations au choix du gagnant. Jeff a décidé de transférer son prix à quatre organisations dont chacune recevra un montant de 250 $ : Western Canada Theatre (Kamloops, BC), Alberta Theatre Projects (Calgary, AB), École nationale du théâtre du Canada (Montréal, QC), and Young People's Theatre (Toronto, ON).

Bien qu'il y ait eu plusieurs nominations très valables (le secteur culturel est rempli de merveilleux mentors qui ont changé ou changent des vies et des carrières !), le comité de sélection a décidé que les contributions exceptionnelles de Jeff, ainsi que les lettres élogieuses d'appui et de support à son dossier de candidature, ont élevé son nom au-dessus du reste. Dans les premiers mots du formulaire de mise en candidature :

« Depuis plus de 25, Jeff Cummings a partagé son énergie, sa passion et son amour du théâtre avec des praticiens de partout au Canada et au-delà. Que ce soit lorsqu'il enseigne des cours au Cariboo College (maintenant Thompson Rivers University) ou à l'École nationale du théâtre du Canada, ou encore, que ce soit lorsqu'il guide une nouvelle équipe de bénévoles au Sagebrush Theatre à Kamloops ou au Chinook Theatre à Edmonton, ou parmi n'importe quel d'une douzaine d'autres théâtres, festivals et événements auxquels il a travaillé dessus, Jeff a toujours été un grand leader dont le travail est admiré et imité. Il est, en fait, l'incarnation de ce que devrait être un mentor. »

Le mot DUX signifie leader en latin. En créant ce prix annuel, le CRHSC veut honorer les leaders des ressources humaines du secteur culturel canadien qui ont contribué à créer la vie culturelle dynamique et inspirante dont nous jouissons dans ce pays. En 2012, nous avons honoré les héros de l'ombre qui ont consacré leur temps et leurs énergies à nourrir de jeunes talents -- les mentors. La cérémonie pour remettre le prix a eu lieu à l'hôtel Radisson Admiral à Toronto.

Le Conseil des ressources humaines du secteur culturel (CRHSC) a pour but d'appuyer la main-d'oeuvre du milieu culturel au Canada; il se veut au centre de l'action et de la réflexion dans le domaine du développement des ressources humaines des arts et de la culture.

-30-

Renseignement :
Directrice générale
613-562-1535, poste 22
sannis@crhsculturel.ca
www.crhsculturel.ca