Announcements

> 2012

CHRC Annual General Meeting

October 2nd, 2012

CHRC votes in new Board for 2012/2013

CHRC held its 17th Annual General Meeting in Toronto last Thursday, setting the stage for Building Bridges, its national HR Forum which opened later that day at Harbourfront Centre.

Richard Hornsby delivered the Chair's Report on behalf of Kevin Hanson who was unable to attend. He explained that the Council is entering a new and exciting phase of its history. As of next April, the Cultural HR Council will be operating without the core funding support of HRSDC's Sector Council Programme (which is sun setting in March 2013).

Nonetheless, "CHRC is firm in its commitment to continue its leadership role on HR issues in the cultural sector: building on its recognized track record of expertise on cultural HR issues such as developing occupational standards, undertaking relevant research on labour market information, and developing course content; and facilitating strategic partnerships within the cultural sector and with other sectors such as education."

He described the new governance model which includes a Board of 10 (instead of 18), with one representative per sub-sector; and an Advisory Committee to the Board (appointed by the Board) which will help CHRC to maintain the depth and breadth of its reach into the sector.

The slate for the new Board 2012/2013 was tabled by outgoing Board member Karen Virag, on behalf of the Nominating Committee:

Kathleen De Long, Canadian Library Association/Association canadienne des bibliothèques
Patricia Feheley, Art Dealers Association of Canada/Association des marchands d'art du Canada
Kevin Hanson, Canadian Publishers' Council
Richard Hornsby, University of New Brunswick Centre for Musical Arts
Ian Kelso, Canadian Interactive Alliance interactive canadienne (CIAIC)
Parise Mongrain, Centre de ressources et transition pour danseurs / Dancer Transition Resource Centre
Liz Shorten, Canadian Media Production Association
Larry Wanagas, Music Managers Forum of Canada
Ellen Busby, Treasurer (appointed)
Cynthia Lickers-Sage, Kaha:wi Dance Theatre (appointed)

Virag also presented the names of the members of the new Advisory Committee to the Board:

Bernard Burton, Canadian Crafts Federation / Fédération des métiers d'art du Canada
Barry Blake, ACTRA
Philippe Turp, Ubisoft
Karen Virag, Editors' Association of Canada / Association canadienne des réviseurs
Doug Broadfoot, Canadian Broadcasting Corporation
JP Ellson, SaskMusic
Al Cushing, CEO, Yukon Arts Centre

After thanking outgoing Board members for their commitment to CHRC over many years (notably Karen Virag and Marie Lalonde who have each served on the Board for 9 years!), and their willingness in several cases to continue as members of the Advisory Committee to the Board, Hornsby looked to the future:

"Our confidence and resolve are grounded in the Council's history, its track record, its broad and deep reach into the sector through expert and collaborative networks, its committed Board, and its dedicated staff. We know that we need to work closer than ever together to ensure that Canada's cultural sector continues to grow and shine here and all over the world."

-30-

For further information contact:
Susan Annis
Executive Director
613-562-1535, ext. 22
sannis@culturalhrc.ca
www.culturalhrc.ca

Annonces

> 2012

L'Assemblée générale annuelle du CRHSC

Le 2 octobre 2012

Le CRHSC se donne un nouveau conseil d'administration pour 2012-2013

Le CRHSC a tenu sa 17e Assemblée générale annuelle à Toronto jeudi dernier, juste avant le lancement de Construire des ponts, son forum national sur les ressources humaines, qui débutait en soirée au Harbour Front Centre.

Richard Hornsby a présenté le rapport du président au nom de Kevin Hanson qui ne pouvait pas être présent. Il a expliqué que le Conseil entrait dans une nouvelle phase fort intéressante de son histoire. À partir d'avril prochain, le Conseil des ressources humaines du secteur culturel fonctionnera sans le financement de base du Programme des conseils sectoriels de RHDCC (qui sera aboli en mars 2013).

Quoi qu'il en soit, « le CRHSC est bien décidé à conserver son leadership sur les questions de ressources humaines dans le secteur culturel, à bâtir à partir de son expertise reconnue sur les enjeux de ressources humaines dans le monde de la culture, c'est-à- dire, établir des normes professionnelles, effectuer des recherches pertinentes sur l'information sur le marché du travail et élaborer des contenus de cours. Il continuera également à favoriser la création de partenariats stratégiques au sein du secteur culturel et avec d'autres secteurs comme celui de l'éducation. »

Monsieur Hornsby a décrit le nouveau modèle de gouvernance qui comprend un conseil d'administration de dix personnes (au lieu de 18), soit une personne représentant chacun des sous-secteurs ainsi qu'un comité aviseur du conseil d'administration (nommé par le c.a.) et qui aidera le CRHSC à maintenir la portée et l'importance qu'il a déjà au sein du secteur.

Madame Karen Virag, membre sortante du C.A., a présenté la liste des membres du nouveau conseil d'administration pour l'année 2012-2013 au nom du comité des candidatures :

Kathleen De Long, Canadian Library Association - Association canadienne des bibliothèques
Patricia Feheley, Association des marchands d'art du Canada - Art Dealers Association of Canada
Kevin Hanson, Canadian Publishers' Council
Richard Hornsby, University of New Brunswick Centre for Musical Arts
Ian Kelso, Canadian Interactive Alliance interactive canadienne (CIAIC)
Parise Mongrain, Centre de ressources et transition pour danseurs - Dancer Transition Resource Centre
Liz Shorten, Canadian Media Production Association
Larry Wanagas, Music Managers Forum of Canada
Ellen Busby, Trésorière (nommée)
Cynthia Lickers-Sage, Kaha:wi Dance Theatre (nommée)

Madame Virag a également révélé le nom des membres du nouveau comité aviseur du conseil d'administration :

Bernard Burton, Fédération des métiers d'art du Canada - Canadian Crafts Federation
Barry Blake, ACTRA
Philippe Turp, Ubisoft
Karen Virag, Association canadienne des réviseurs - Editors' Association of Canada
Doug Broadfoot, Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC)
JP Ellson, SaskMusic
Al Cushing, Chef de la direction du Yukon Arts Centre

Après avoir remercié les membres sortants du conseil d'administration pour les nombreuses années d'engagement auprès du CRHSC (notamment Karen Virag et Marie Lalonde qui y ont consacré chacune neuf ans !) et souligné, dans plusieurs cas, leur volonté de faire désormais partie du comité aviseur, Richard Hornsby a parlé de l'avenir :

« Notre confiance et notre détermination sont ancrées dans l'historique du Conseil, dans ses antécédents, son importante portée dans le secteur grâce aux spécialistes et aux réseaux qui collaborent avec lui, dans l'engagement des membres de son conseil d'administration et de son personnel. Nous savons que nous devons travailler ensemble plus que jamais pour nous assurer que le secteur culturel canadien continue à se développer et qu'il puisse rayonner autant ici que partout dans le monde. »

-30-

Pour de plus amples renseignements, communiquez avec :
Susan Annis
Directrice générale
613-562-1535, poste 22
sannis@crhsculturel.ca
www.crhsculturel.ca