Announcements

> 2014

September 9, 2014


Culture Statistics show strength of sector

New Culture Satellite Account data released

As a member of the Consortium behind the Canadian Culture Satellite Account (CSA), CHRC is pleased to announce the release of the first Culture Satellite Account Report on September 10, 2014.

Here are some of the highlights:

Product perspective

  • Culture GDP at basic prices equaled $47.8 billion, contributing 3.1% to Canada's GDP in 2010.

  • Culture jobs accounted for 674,000 jobs in 2010, contributing 3.7% to total employment.

  • Culture output totaled $93.2 billion or 3.0% as a share of total economy.

Industry perspective

  • GDP of culture industries was $53.2 billion in 2010, contributing 3.4% to Canada's total GDP. Of which culture products accounted for $40.7 billion and other products (i.e. non-culture products) $12.5 billion.

  • Culture industries accounted for 704,000 jobs, a 4.0% share.

  • Culture industries formed 3.2% ($99.3 billion) of the total production in Canada.

The arts, culture and heritage industry in Canada was larger than the accommodation and food services industry ($30.6 billion) and twice as big as the agriculture, forestry, fishing and hunting industry ($23.9 billion).

New GDP Data (in millions of dollars)

Heritage and Libraries $598
Live Performance $2,008
Visual and Applied Arts $13,393
Sound Recording $507
Written and Published Works $10,147
Audio-Visual and Interactive Media $13,787

New Job Numbers

Heritage and Libraries 16,000
Live Performance 57,000
Visual and Applied Arts 192,000
Sound Recording 12,000
Written and Published Works 146,000
Audio-Visual and Interactive Media 117,000

The CSA Report contains the most precise and reliable data available on the economic importance and activity of culture, arts, heritage and sport in Canada.

These data are the result of a methodologically rigorous and transparent approach to measuring the economic importance and activity of culture and sport in Canada through the production of culture and sport goods and services and their contribution to gross domestic product (GDP) and jobs.

The CSA stems from a partnership between Statistics Canada, the Department of Canadian Heritage, all of the provinces and territories, numerous municipalities and several non-governmental organizations. CHRC is the only national cross-sector organization on the Consortium. Having long recognized the importance of solid, strong cultural statistics reporting, CHRC was a long-time member of the National Advisory Committee on Cultural Statistics (now defunct), and has contributed important cultural statistics research for the sector, such as Fast Stats in 2004 (which included a cultural point of view alongside the official numbers); and the first Labour Market Information report for the cultural sector in 2010.

The CSA will provide new statistics every year on a range of indicators, such as gross domestic product (GDP) and jobs.

Development of the CSA continues in order to broaden its scope. The first publicly available figures at the provincial and territorial level are expected in 2015, followed by work to determine the feasibility of reporting at other levels.

CHRC is proud to represent the interests of the whole cultural sector on this Consortium.

The Cultural Human Resources Council (CHRC) is a not-for-profit organization committed to strengthening the Canadian cultural workforce by providing leadership and innovative solutions to human resource issues and to better the HR environment within the cultural sector.

For further information contact:

Susan Annis
Executive Director
613-562-1535, ext. 22
sannis@culturalhrc.ca
www.culturalhrc.ca

Annonces

> 2014

Le 10 septembre 2014


Les statistiques culturelles révèlent les forces
du secteur culturel

Les nouvelles données du Compte satellite
de la culture sont émises publiquement

En tant que membre du Consortium responsable du Compte satellite de la culture du Canada (CSC), le Conseil des ressources humaines du secteur culturel (CRHSC) est fier d'annoncer que le premier Rapport du CSC sera publié le 10 septembre, 2014.

En voici quelques points saillants :

Perspective du produit

  • Le PIB de la culture aux prix de base se chiffrait à 47.8 milliards de dollars, ce qui représentait une contribution de 3,1% au PIB du Canada en 2010.

  • Les emplois de la culture se chiffraient à 674,000 en 2010, soit 3.7 % de l'emploi total.

  • Les produits de la culture ont atteint la valeur de 93.2 milliards de dollars ou une part de 3,0 % de l'économie totale.

Perspective de l'industrie

  • Le PIB des industries de la culture s'établissait à 53.2 milliards de dollars en 2010, soit 3.4 % du PIB total du Canada. De ce montant, les produits de la culture représentaient 40.7 milliards de dollars et les autres produits (c.-à-d. les produits non liés à la culture), 12.5 milliards de dollars.

  • Les industries de la culture représentaient 704,000 emplois, c.-à-d. une part de 4.0 % des emplois de l'économie totale.

  • Les industries de la culture représentaient 3.2 % (99.3 milliards de dollars) de la production totale du Canada.

L'industrie des arts, de la culture et du patrimoine est plus importante que l'industrie de l'hébergement et des services de restauration (30,6 millions de dollars), et est deux fois plus importante que l'industrie de l'agriculture, de la foresterie, de la pêche et de la chasse (23,9 millions de dollars).

Nouvelles données sur le PIB

Patrimoine et bibliothèques 598 $
Spectacles 2,008 $
Arts visuels et arts appliqués 13,393 $
Enregistrements sonores 507 $
Écrits et ouvrages publiés 10,147 $
Audiovisuel et médias interactifs 13,787 $

Nouveaux chiffres pour l'emploi

Patrimoine et bibliothèques 16,000
Spectacles 57,000
Arts visuels et arts appliqués 192,000
Enregistrements sonores 12,000
Écrits et ouvrages publiés 146,000
Audiovisuel et médias interactifs 117,000

Les données du Rapport sont les plus précises et fiables qui existent sur l'importance économique de la culture, des arts, du patrimoine et du sport et les activités connexes au Canada.

Ils sont le résultat d'une approche méthodologiquement rigoureuse et transparente visant à évaluer l'importance économique de la culture et des activités connexes au Canada, à travers la production des biens et services de la culture et du sport et leur contribution au produit intérieur brut (PIB) et les emplois.

Le CSC est le résultat d'un partenariat fructueux entre Statistique Canada, Patrimoine canadien, tous les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, de nombreuses municipalités et plusieurs organisations non gouvernementales. Le CRHSC, organisme national à but non-lucratif, est le seul membre du Consortium à représenter le secteur culturel en entier. Depuis des années le CRHSC a été membre du Comité national consultatif pour les statistiques culturelles (un groupe qui n'existe plus) et a contribué à des recherches importantes sur les statistiques culturelles telles Coup d'oeil statistique sur le secteur culturel en 2004 (un document comprenant la perspective du secteur culturel ainsi que les données); et, en 2010, le premier Rapport sur l'information sur le marché du travail pour le secteur culturel canadien.

Le CSC générera de nouvelles statistiques chaque année selon un éventail d'indicateurs tels que le produit intérieur brut (PIB) et les emplois.

Le CSC continue de se développer afin d'élargir sa portée. Les premières données accessibles au public à l'échelle provinciale et territoriale sont prévues en 2015. Une étude sur la faisabilité de recueillir des données à d'autres échelles sera faite par la suite.

Le CRHSC est fier de représenter le secteur culturel au sein du Consortium.

Le Conseil des ressources humaines du secteur culturel (CRHSC), un organisme à but non-lucratif, a pour but d'appuyer la main-d'oeuvre du milieu culturel au Canada; il se veut au centre de l'action et de la réflexion dans le domaine du développement des ressources humaines des arts et de la culture.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :

Susan Annis
Directrice générale
613-562-1535, poste 22
sannis@crhsculturel.ca
www.crhsculturel.ca