Announcements

> 2016

May 11th, 2016


New Culture Satellite Account
Provincial and Territorial Culture Indicators 2010-2014

As a member of the Culture Statistics Strategy Consortium, CHRC is pleased to announce the release of new detailed data, collected through the Culture Satellite Account (CSA), which measures the economic importance of culture, arts, heritage and sport in the provinces and territories of Canada.

The CSA consortium, consisting of Canadian Heritage and its partners - all of the provinces and territories, other federal organizations, numerous municipalities and several non-governmental organizations - have been working with Statistics Canada on the creation and development of the CSA: an accounting framework created to better capture data detailing the economic importance and activity of culture, arts, heritage and sport in Canada.

By better understanding the regional economic contribution of culture, arts, heritage and sport activities to the provinces and territories, it will be easier to demonstrate the value and importance of these sectors for the country as a whole.

On September 10, 2014, the first CSA data were released detailing the economic contribution of culture, arts, heritage and sport to the Canadian economy, at the national level, for reference year 2010. The second official set of CSA data were released on June 9, 2015, inclusive of statistics for all provinces and territories, though also based on reference year 2010. These PTCI are benchmarked to these previous CSA releases.

The estimates provide timely economic information which facilitates ongoing monitoring and analysis of culture in Canada.

Culture is everywhere. It is an important contributor to the Canadian economy, and the economies of each province and territory - a key driver of creativity essential to innovation in the economy and a sound investment that generates jobs A better understanding of the economic contribution of culture, arts and heritage activity in Canadian provinces and territories will help demonstrate the value and importance of the arts and culture across Canada.

The Culture Satellite Account highlights the economic importance of culture, which confirms the value of investing in this sector. Investing in culture, is investing in our economy and in our international reputation. It is also investing in our creative potential and our future.

Annonces

> 2016

Le 11 mai 2016


Nouveaux indicateurs provinciaux et territoriaux de la culture
de 2010 à 2014 du Compte satellite de la culture

En tant que membre du consortium du Compte satellite de la culture (CSC), le CRHSC est fier de présenter de nouvelles données détaillées mesurant l'importance économique de la culture, des arts, du patrimoine et du sport dans les provinces et territoires du Canada.

Le consortium du CSC, comprenant Patrimoine canadien et ses partenaires - toutes les provinces et tous les territoires, d'autres organismes fédéraux, de nombreuses municipalités et plusieurs organisations non gouvernementales - ont collaboré avec Statistique Canada pour mettre en oeuvre le CSC : un cadre comptable créé afin d'améliorer la saisie de données détaillées sur les activités en matière de culture, d'arts, de patrimoine et de sport au Canada et sur leur importance économique.

En comprenant mieux la contribution économique régionale des activités liées à la culture, aux arts, au patrimoine et aux sports auprès des provinces et territoires, il est plus facile de démontrer la valeur et l'importance de ces secteurs pour l'ensemble du pays.

Notre Compte satellite de la culture fut le premier à présenter des données économiques aussi fiables et précises sur la culture pour les provinces et territoires. C'est une initiative fructueuse. Ses nouvelles statistiques seront fournies chaque année sur un vaste éventail d'indicateurs, comme le produit intérieur brut (PIB) et les emplois.

Le 10 septembre 2014, les premières données nationales du CSC ont été publiées, faisant état en détail de la contribution économique de la culture, des arts, du patrimoine et du sport dans l'économie canadienne en 2010. Ensuite, le 9 juin 2015, Statistique Canada a publié de nouvelles données économiques, tirées du CSC, sur les arts, la culture, le patrimoine et les sports pour 2010, par province et territoire. Les indicateurs provinciaux et territoriaux de la culture de 2010 à 2014 viendront renforcer la valeur des messages existants.

La culture est partout - elle génère une grande valeur économique dans tout le Canada - elle est un moteur puissant de créativité, indispensable à l'innovation dans l'économie. Le Compte satellite de la culture est un outil essentiel qui démontre l'ampleur de la valeur économique de la culture, ce qui confirme l'importance de l'investissement dans ce secteur. Investir dans la culture, c'est investir dans notre économie et notre réputation à l'international. C'est aussi investir dans notre potentiel créatif et notre avenir.