HR Study 2010

> Labour Market Information for Canada's Cultural Sector

Purchase all three documents that make up HR Study 2010 in a printable electronic format

The HR Study 2010 package contains: HR Trends and Issues, Labour Market Information for Canada's Cultural Sector and The Effect of the Global Economic Recession on Canada's Creative Economy in 2009.

Economic Overview of the Cultural Sector - Highlights

Effect of the economic recession

The effects of the 2008 recession reduced the real value-added output, or GDP, of the cultural sector (excluding interactive digital media) by nearly 5 per cent, compared with the growth that may have occurred had there not been a recession.

Household Consumption

Canadian households increased their spending on cultural goods and services by 2.6 per cent in 2008 over the previous year. This was the same rate of growth as the increase in total household spending in Canada for all goods and services.

Cultural Exports

Exports of Canadian cultural goods to the rest of the world have been on a downward trend since 2003. The decline was particularly severe in 2008, when the value of cultural goods exports dropped by 12 per cent from 2007.

Government support

The direct financial support provided to the cultural sector by federal, provincial, territorial, and municipal governments increased steadily between the fiscal years of 200304 and 200708. In the fiscal year ending in 2008, expenditures by all three levels of government totaled nearly $8.7 billion.

Short term outlook by domain

Film, Radio, TV, and Broadcasting: The short-term outlook suggests further challenges for the financial recovery of the film, radio, TV, and broadcasting domain. While the economic recovery is likely to boost the demand for film, radio, and television, transitional changes in how these media products are created, distributed, and consumed will likely continue to place downward pressure on the revenues of establishments operating in this domain until business models adapt.

Music: While a global economic recovery will boost the potential for revenue growth, the transition to online distribution methods for music and sound recordings will continue to affect the pace of growth, as music establishments continue to adapt to new online and off-line business models. This transition will likely have a greater impact on the revenues of establishments involved in music publishing, sound recording, and record production and distribution than for individual recording artists.

Live Performing Arts: There is a cautious outlook for the financial performance of Canada's live performing arts. This domain's financial prospects are, to some degree, tied to the outlook for Canadian household consumption. However, the availability and frequency of live performing arts programs are generally based on known revenue commitments, especially government support, endowments, and other contributions. Unfortunately, the outlook for growth in these revenue sources is modest, at best, dampening the overall outlook for live performing arts revenues.

Heritage: The financial performance of Canada's heritage domain in the coming years will depend on the financial support provided by the federal government and by provincial governments. Government support will be vulnerable to the shrinking levels of government stimulus funding, as well as the reallocation of government discretionary funds towards debt repayment. Still, as the economy recovers, other revenue streams are expected to grow modestly, including municipal government support, endowments, and other financial contributions by businesses and individuals.

Books and Periodicals: The financial outlook for the books and periodicals domain will continue to be challenged by the weakness in key revenue streams over the short term. While a global economic recovery will help boost the potential for revenue growth, changes in distribution methods for written media products will continue to affect the pace of revenue growth, as business models struggle to adapt to these changes. This is especially true for establishments involved in newspaper and magazine publishing.

Visual Arts and Crafts: The short-term financial outlook for the visual arts and crafts domain is somewhat cautious. This domain's financial prospects will likely be dictated by the pace of recovery in Canadian household spending and, to a lesser extent, foreign demand. The global economic recovery should improve revenue opportunities for Canadian visual art products, although the volatility of the Canadian dollar may dampen some of that potential. Moreover, the availability of Canadian visual arts products may be somewhat curtailed by a reduction in financial support for visual artists, in particular from provincial and federal governments.

Interactive Digital Media: The short-term financial outlook for the interactive digital media domain appears favourable. In addition to receiving a boost from a recovery in the global economy, ongoing changes in the types of entertainment products sought by consumers will continue to fuel the expansion of interactive digital media industries. As the interactive digital media market evolves, Canadian establishments in this domain appear well-poised to capitalize on growing global demand.

Étude sur les RH 2010

> Information sur le marché du travail du secteur culturel canadien

Achetez les trois documents qui composent l'Étude sur les RH2010 dans un format électronique imprimable

La trousse de l'Étude sur les RH2010 inclut : Tendances et enjeux de ressources humaines, Information sur le marché du travail du secteur culturel canadien et Impact de la récession mondiale sur l'économie créative du Canada en 2009.

Points saillants de l'aperçu économique du secteur culturel

Effet de la récession économique

Les effets de la récession ont réduit la production réelle en valeur ajoutée ou PIB du secteur culturel (à l’exception des médias numériques interactifs) de près de 5 p. 100, si l’on compare à la croissance qui aurait pu se produire s’il n’y avait pas eu de récession.

Consommation des ménages

Les ménages canadiens ont accru leurs dépenses en biens et en services culturels de 2,6 p. 100 en 2008, par rapport à l’année précédente. Le taux de croissance est le même que l’augmentation de l’ensemble des dépenses des ménages canadiens pour l’ensemble des biens et des services.

Exportations culturelles

Les exportations canadiennes de biens et de services culturels vers le reste du monde ont diminué depuis 2003. Le déclin a été particulièrement important en 2008 alors que la valeur des exportations de biens culturels a chuté de 12 p. 100 par rapport à 2007.

Soutien gouvernemental

Le soutien direct des gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux, territoriaux et municipaux au secteur culturel a augmenté régulièrement entre 2003–2004 et 2007–2008. Au cours de l’année financière se terminant en 2008, les dépenses des trois niveaux de gouvernement totalisaient près de 8,7 milliards de dollars.

Aperçu à court terme par domaine

Cinéma, radio, télévision et radiotélédiffusion : L’aperçu à court terme suggère que pour récupérer sur le plan financier, le domaine du cinéma, de la radio, de la télévision et de la radiotélédiffusion aura encore des défis à relever. Bien que la reprise économique devrait stimuler la demande en cinéma, en radio, en télévision et en radiotélédiffusion, la transition vers les changements dans la façon dont les produits médiatiques sont créés, distribués et consommés continuera d’exercer des pressions à la baisse sur les revenus des établissements du domaine jusqu’à ce que les modèles d’affaires soient adaptés.

Musique : Bien que la reprise de l’économie mondiale devrait stimuler la croissance potentielle des revenus, la transition vers les méthodes de distribution en ligne de la musique et des enregistrements sonores continuera à affecter le rythme de la croissance puisque les établissements de musique devront continuer à s’adapter aux nouveaux modèles d’affaires en ligne et hors-ligne. Cette transition devrait avoir un impact plus important sur les revenus des établissements liés à l’édition de la musique, à l’enregistrement sonore, à la production et à la distribution de disques que sur les artistes indépendants.

Arts de la scène : L’aperçu du rendement financier des arts de la scène canadiens est prudent. Les perspectives économiques de ce domaine sont, à un certain degré, liées à l’aperçu de la consommation des ménages canadiens. Toutefois, la disponibilité et la fréquence de la programmation en arts de la scène sont généralement liées à des engagements financiers connus, particulièrement le soutien des gouvernements, les dotations et autres contributions. L’aperçu de la croissance pour ces sources de revenus est malheureusement modeste, au mieux, elle atténue l’aperçu général des revenus dans les arts de la scène.

Patrimoine : Au cours des prochaines années, le rendement financier du domaine canadien du patrimoine dépendra du soutien financier du gouvernement fédéral et des gouvernements provinciaux. Le soutien des gouvernements sera vulnérable en raison de la réduction du financement de relance et de la réaffectation des fonds discrétionnaires des gouvernements au paiement de la dette. Par contre, avec la reprise économique, d’autres sources de revenus devraient connaître une croissance modeste, y compris le soutien des gouvernements municipaux, les dotations et d’autres contributions financières des entreprises et des mécènes.

Livres et périodiques : L’aperçu financier pour le domaine des livres et des périodiques continuera à être touché à court terme par la faiblesse des principales sources de revenus. Bien que la reprise de l’économie mondiale stimulera le potentiel de croissance économique, les changements dans les méthodes de distribution des produits médiatiques écrits continueront à affecter le rythme de croissance des revenus puisque les modèles d’affaires devront s’adapter à ces changements. Cela est particulièrement vrai pour les établissements liés à l’édition des journaux et des magazines.

Arts visuels et métiers d’art : L’aperçu financier à court terme du domaine des arts visuels et des métiers d’art est assez prudent. Les perspectives économiques de ce domaine seront sans doute liées au rythme de la reprise des dépenses des ménages canadiens et, à un moindre niveau, à la demande étrangère. La reprise de l’économie mondiale devrait améliorer les possibilités de revenus pour les produits canadiens d’arts visuels, bien que la volatilité du dollar canadien pourrait assombrir ces possibilités. De plus, la disponibilité des produits canadiens d’arts visuels pourrait être ralentie par la réduction du soutien financier aux artistes visuels, en particulier celui des gouvernements provinciaux et du gouvernement fédéral.

Médias numériques interactifs : L’aperçu financier à court terme du domaine des médias numériques interactifs semble favorable. En plus d’être stimulés par la reprise économique mondiale, les changements actuels dans les types de produits de divertissement que recherchent les consommateurs continueront de favoriser l’expansion des industries de médias numériques interactifs. Avec l’évolution du marché des médias numériques interactifs, les établissements canadiens de ce domaine semblent bien placés pour capitaliser sur la croissance de la demande mondiale.